What you need to know

  • Gears 5 is a third-person shooter from Xbox Game Studios.
  • It's getting powerful characters like General RAAM today.
  • You can unlock them by playing the game or purchase them through the Microsoft Store.
  • Gears 5 is part of Xbox Game Pass.

Gears 5 is a third-person shooter from The Coalition, an Xbox Game Studios team. It received great reviews at launch and the multiplayer mode seems to have gained a lot of traction in recent weeks. Today, the developer detailed how it would evolve the competitive experience with four new characters. The COG Gear, DeeBee, Warden, and General RAAM are being added to the game. Every character will feature powerful multiplayer abilities to master. It's a lot like Star Wars Battlefront II's Heroes and Villains.

These new characters are available today starting at 3 PM EDT and can be earned through gameplay or purchased in the store. However, there's more. If you loved the Terminator: Dark Fate crossover, you'll be happy to know that two new characters from the film are being added. Grace and the Terminator Model Rev-9 are both deadly additions to Gears 5.

In a press release Windows Central received, The Coalition added that in the coming weeks, new Escape Hives, seasonal multiplayer events, and new customization rewards will be revealed. It's never a dull moment, that's for sure!

Best of the best

Xbox Game Pass Ultimate

It'll last you a couple of months

Xbox Game Pass gives you access to over 200 games for one monthly fee. Xbox Game Pass Ultimate also adds Xbox Live Gold to the package so you can play online with your friends.



We may earn a commission for purchases using our links. Learn more.